Google Translate

Female Genital Mutilation (FGM)

Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) is sometimes not fully understood from just looking at its name. It’s helpful to separate the different types of mutilation that fit into the FGM umbrella to gain a fuller understanding. In this article, FGM is separated into four general types. It is important to note that all four of these types are a violation of these women’s natural rights to their bodies.

In most instances, FGM is performed on a girl at the age of a minor without the consent of the individual. This medical procedure has no health benefits and is often done by a non-medical professional. This non-medical professional usually plays a central role in the community and is highly regarded. It is clear that this practice is centered around the idea of gender inequality in the community. Education is an extremely important way to fight this cultural norm.

FGM Reversal Surgery

safe haven for women
The surgery to reverse the physical effects of female genital mutilation is highly specialized and practiced by only a few surgeons trained in the procedure.  FGM reversal surgery or FGM reconstruction is performed to return to the victim her original birth anatomy.

What Are The Different Types of FGM?

There are four types of female genital cutting or mutilation.  In the vast majority of cases, the vulva and clitoris are the parts of the anatomy that are damaged or destroyed.  For sake of this discussion, these are the parts considered.